Her Children Will Call Her Blessed

I’ve known Emily for about 20 years. She is my friend; her children are my friends, and her grandchildren are my kids’ friends.

I’ve always loved and admired Emily, and quite honestly, I’ve always been in awe of her. She is a loving wife, mom to seven, grandmother to twenty-one, and friend to thousands. She makes amazing homemade pizza, loves to laugh, and when she tells you she’s going to pray for you–you KNOW she does.

When her family asked me to photograph her surprise 70th birthday party, I can’t even begin to describe how excited I was. There’s something beyond special about being a small part of a plot devised to bless her. The party took place in her backyard and was set up while she went out for the day. Emily’s response to the surprise was priceless! The biggest surprise of the night was revealed when her daughter and family from California (who flew in for the big event) made their surprise appearance.

Emily’s party featured a delicious dinner prepared by her children. Did I mention that one of her son-in-laws is a chef? Dinner was followed by the “Happy Birthday Song” and an amazing cake, made and decorated by her daughter, Heather. Lots of great conversation, laughes, and a slideshow rounded out the evening.

The following day we did an extended family photo session–all seven kids and their spouses, all twenty-one grandchildren, and Emily’s siblings! What fun!

I hope you enjoy just a few of the hundreds of pictures from this wonderful weekend!

Happy Birthday Emily! I am thankful to call you my friend.

 

Collage 1

Collage 3

Collage 2

Duenke_0011Duenke_0496Duenke_0535Duenke_0548 Duenke_0599

Leave a Reply

