Five Things You Need to Make Your Wedding Great. Part 5.

This is the last of a five-part series written to help brides who are planning their weddings. The “Five Things” are my wedding-day must-haves. They’re the things, in my opinion, that are non-negotiables for your wedding day to run smoothly. ENJOY! I hope you find these posts helpful. 

FOCUS. EXPECT THINGS TO GO WRONG.

On my wedding day, my husband’s crazy Aunt Cathie (I mean crazy in the best and most wonderful sense of the word) told me she had two pieces of advice for me. Not quite sure what to expect from her, I reluctantly asked what those two pieces of advice were.

The first thing she said to me was, “Focus.” She went on to elaborate. As you walk down the aisle make eye contact with your friends and family, say their names to yourself as you see them, notice the colors of dresses and ties, think about how you feel, think about the way the music sounds and the flowers smell. If your dad is walking you down the aisle, look at him, and of course, look at your groom. Take it all in…intentionally, deliberately, and in detail.JonRach_0251

The next words out of her mouth were a bit less inspiring initially, but turned out to be very wise. “Expect things to go wrong.” After months of planning and decision-making, that’s really not what you want to hear. But let’s face it, we are less than perfect people living in a less than perfect world, and no amount of planning and preparing can change that.Though we can do our part by being organized and having a great wedding coordinator, ultimately we cannot control all the variables that go in to a wedding.

When Aunt Cathie told me to expect things to go wrong, she wasn’t suggesting that I be pessimistic and look for flaws and faults throughout the day. Cathie was trying to prevent me from having unrealistic, perfectionistic expectations which lead to disappointment and stress and get in the way of enjoying life. She told me that if I expected things to go wrong and they did, it wouldn’t be as big of a  deal because I’d be prepared for it.

I hope you’ve found my “Five Things” helpful as you plan your wedding. To read, or reread all five, choose “Wedding Wednesday” from the categories on the right.

My hope is that your wedding day will be the day of your dreams, that it will be the best day of your life, and that it will be one that you have vivid memories of.

MaxEm_0688bw.jpgKyleEm_0719.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

